Whale watching


This post was long due. We went on a whale watching tour at the San Francisco bay last month. It was supposed to be a full day tour and we had a groupon deal. We reached early morning as the trip starts at 8. Firstly, it got delayed by an hour and I got cranky. But when the boat started sailing, it felt good and I was happy. But alas, I suffered from severe sea sickness with vomitings and headache. I just lied down inside the cabin the whole trip, could not eat a bite. It took around 2 hours to reach the spot and we slowed down for sometime to catch glimpses of the majestic whales. I managed to see them from the window and Ims clicked pictures from the deck. šŸ˜›

We could spot some Grey whales but no Humpback whales, no breaching as well. And we returned by just 2, I got angry as they said it would be full day and I was prepared with food and all but I was very happy too that my suffering would come to an end. All in all, it was not a great trip, I’m never going again. I’m planning to do whale watching next at either Hawaii or the Monterey bay.

First sight of the Whale

First sight of the Whale

Whale breathing

Whale breathing

The tail

The tail

One more, how I wish they breached

One more, how I wish they breached

5

A couple !

A couple !

The Golden Gate

The Golden Gate

8

9

Point Bonita on the way

Point Bonita on the way

And the big news. Did I tell you all that I adopted a Humpback whale Chomp. šŸ˜€

33 thoughts on “Whale watching

  1. wow!!!! its awesome jazz šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ I can feel how thrilled the drive would have been!! nice image too šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

  2. Wow, Wow, Wow ! What an experience whale watching must have been ! I have always wanted to see whale breathing out water ! Too bad your trip didn’t go as well as you wanted .. perhaps group tours are not always fun !

  3. Oh wow – that is something I want to do as well. Lovely pics and must’ve been so exciting. I hope the next time you’ll feel well.

    • Thanks a lot Suzy, you must do it. We plan to do it again at a better place to spot bigger whales like Humpback. šŸ™‚ I’d feel the luckiest to see a blue whale though. šŸ˜›

    • Yeah Angela, you must do it, it was great experience. We plan to do it again at a better place and also be prepared for the weather.

  4. Lovely pics. One of my cousins had the same sickness with the tour..in fact his entire family fell sick. šŸ˜¦ Hope you will feel better in your next trip. carry the sea sickness bands with you next time. They will help.

  5. I did whale watching at South Africa , New Jersey. Sometimes it is disappointing with all the money we pay and don’t get enough of it.. I am glad you spotted them. Golden gate looks majestic …

Leave a Reply

