CSA and Cheesecake


The Child Sexual Abuse Awareness Month initiative in 2011 opened my eyes wide to so many facts around me, I came across many survivor stories and each hit me so hard that I wanted to run and give a hug to them. It was all happening just around me, the society did a great job at hiding them under the carpet, nobody acknowledged the abuse faced by the little ones.

Instances from my own childhood came back haunting me which are nothing compared to what I read but now I knew it had a name, Child Sexual Abuse. Next was an episode on the same on Satyamev Jayate which brought the issue into every living room in India. I was so glad to see it being discussed openly and the Workshop in the end was the best part.

tumblr_m3vzwarL2k1rt8gkco1_500

I’m not a Mother yet but I read with attention all the tips shared by parents on how to identify CSA and prevent it. The most important is listening to the signs of the Children, to teach them about good/bad touch from a young age. It has often seen that the abusers are not strangers, but somebody within the family, somebody close to the Child. What can be more terrifying ?! I request all of you to learn more about CSA from here.

P.S. Amidst all the uncertainties and the mess in my mind nowadays, a Cheesecake provides me the much needed relief. It is expensive for us but we love to indulge in it.

13 thoughts on “CSA and Cheesecake

  1. Thanks for shedding light on one of the scourges of our times. Spreading awareness and willingness to fight this will help mark an end to this shame.

  2. The survivor stories on CSA Awareness Blog filled me with so much of anger and hatred towards all those perpetrators of such heinous crimes … Awareness about CSA is the key… talking to the kids and listening to them and protecting them is of paramount importance.

  3. Its a scary world out there and we need to do what we can to protect the children around us. Thanks for spreading the awareness.

  4. Very good initiative Jazz, a little known fact is that our community has the highest rates of CSA and incest, but sadly nobody in the community wants to talk about it. Because it is so discomforting the reason Indian women have such high depression rates is because many have uncomfortable childhood traumas and memories that never get detected. There is no space for us to share these situations and talk about them and find closure

Leave a Reply

