Mushroom Fry


No one at my parent’s place eats mushrooms. I first tasted it when my roommate made it and thought it was ok, not bad. Then I had the mushroom manchurian in a restaurant and felt the same. Next I ate the mushroom curry made by my MIL, and still did not fall in love with it, may be because I saw the hassle in cleaning and cooking it.

And then I saw the clean and fresh mushrooms at the local Farmer’s market here. We bought them immediately and Ox said he would cook it in his style. Trust me, it was heavenly. I had to snatch his recipe and here it is. πŸ™‚

Ingredients:
Oil – 2 Tbsp
Cumin seeds – 1 tsp
Chopped onion – 1/2
Slit green chillies – 2
Chopped tomatoes – 1/2
Curry leaves – few
Mushrooms – 8 to 10 no.
Ginger garlic paste – 1 Tbsp
Turmeric powder – 1/4 tsp
Coriander powder – 1/2 tsp
Garam masala powder – 1/2 tsp
Red chilli powder – 1 tsp
Coriander leaves – To garnish
Salt – To taste

Recipe:
Heat oil in a pan. Add cumin seeds and then add the onion, green chilli, and curry leaves once they crack. Now add ginger garlic paste and fry till the raw smell goes. Now add the chopped tomatoes, turmeric powder, coriander powder, garam masala and red chilli powder and cook till mushy and oil separates. Add the cut mushrooms and salt and cook till done. Garnish with coriander leaves, and serve hot with rice or roti.

Ox also adds some curd and cashew paste to thicken the gravy and sprinkles pepper on top too. But I made the above as a simple fry, just cooked till dry. And it served well for 2 people.

10 thoughts on “Mushroom Fry

Leave a Reply

