Baking news


Its been some time since I last posted. We had been on a vacation last weekend to Yosemite and are still resting from all the hiking, will update on that later. Finally I pushed myself with some encouragement from my online friends to use the convection oven provided at the house here. I baked a small simple sample eggless vanilla sponge cake just to check and it came out fine taking away my fear with it.

So last night I started baking another cake which was really good and here is the recipe so I don’t forget.

Ingredients:
Melted butter – 1/2 cup
Sugar – 3/4 cup
Eggs – 2
Milk – 1/4 cup
Vanilla extract – 1 Tsp
Maida (All-purpose flour) – 1 cup
Baking powder – 1/2 Tsp
Baking soda – 1/4 Tsp
Salt – a pinch
Melted chocolate (I used chocolate bread spread, had lots of it) – 2 Tbsp (Optional)
Cut dry fruits (I used cashews, almonds, raisins, dates) – 1/4 cup (Optional)

Recipe:
Add baking powder, baking soda and salt to maida and mix and keep aside.

Beat the butter and sugar well. Add eggs, milk, vanilla extract and mix well.

Now add the maida mixture little by little and keep mixing well.

Beat the batter well so there are no lumps. Chop and coat the required dry fruits in some maida and keep aside.

Take an oven safe vessel, I used an aluminium square shaped vessel. Pour the batter into it, also pour the melted chocolate in desired shapes. Garnish with the dry fruits.

Preheat the oven on 200C for 10 minutes. Put the cake mixture into the oven on the same temperature and let it bake for 30-40 minutes. Insert a toothpick and check if it comes out clean else bake it for 5-10 minutes more.

2 thoughts on “Baking news

Leave a Reply

