Orange peel powder


I wanted to put this down since many days, and finally clicked a picture today, so here it is. I came across this orange peel powder to be used as a scrub for a glowing skin when I was looking for a proper homemade pack for my skin. I had 2 huge oranges at home and also the rose plant my husband got me for my birthday, and I decided to try a sample.

Ingredients:
Orange Peels – 2
Green Gram – 1 Tbsp
Turmeric powder – 1/4 tsp
Rose Petals – 2

Procedure:
Tear the orange peels to small pieces and dry them for few days till crisp. Grind the dried orange peels, the green gram, turmeric powder and petals of 2 roses to a fine powder. Mix about half a spoon of it with milk/curd for a smooth paste, and apply all over the face and neck. Scrub after 20-30 mins when it dries and wash away.

I initially used it with milk but it tends to dry my already dry skin. But when I used the same with curd, it did wonders. I use it everyday and the sample powder I made lasted me nearly a month.

Orange is a citrus fruit, rich in Vitamin C, which makes it a good astringent to get a clear skin, you can even use lemon peels instead of this but I’m yet to try it. Turmeric is an anti-bacterial agent that keeps acne away, green gram makes a good scrub and the rose petals provide freshness. The scrub looks grainy but the mix is very gentle on the skin.

I got impatient and used the peels before they got extremely dry and crisp, which made the powder bit coarse. It gets slightly tough to apply, but other than that, it is perfect. So make sure to dry them well and then grind for a finer pack. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Orange peel powder

Leave a Reply

